Christos Sp. Anastassiou studied Composition and Conducting. In 1994 he moved to Belgrade for postgraduate study at the University of Belgrade where he completed his MA (Master of Arts) in Composition.

His compositions have received distinctions and prizes in international competitions, and have been selected by juries in more than 40 international calls for scores, (finalist of the “ALEA III” International Competition of Composition of the University of Boston, with his work Anakyklisis, finalist of the “OLYMPIA” International Competition of Composition in Athens, with his work Nomos, for string quartet, finalist in the 3rd Festival of contemporary music of Belgrade, with his work Variations for solo guitar, finalist of the “Taukay” International Competition of Composition in Italy, with his work Anima Mundi for electronic media.

As a composer he has composed for a wide variety of media (more than 120 works), including solo, chamber orchestra, symphonic orchestra, string quartets, works for voice, choral music, music for the theater and television and works for electronic media.

His works have been performed by important ensembles of the international contemporary music scene. Many of his works are commissioned by musical organizations and institutions in Greece and abroad (ALEA III, Taukai Edizioni Musicali, Athens Concert Hall, etc).

Currently he lives in Athens, where he teaches Harmony, Counterpoint, Fugue, Orchestration, Composition and Analysis, in various Conservatories. He has also repeatedly lectured and taught in seminars on the music of the 20th century.

His works have been published by Musica – Ferrum and Babel Scores.

Since 1994 he has been a member of the Greek “Composer Union”.



-Fugue No 1 and No 2, for String Orchestra, 1986

-Arsis Nefelis Cantata for two horns, trumpet, trombone, tuba, percussion, piano,

narrator and mixed choir. Text by Andreas Embirikos, 1991.

-Proimion for Large Symphony Orchestra, 1993-94

-Encomium – Text by G. Seferis - for mezzo - soprano, Narrator and Large

Symphony Orchestra, 1996

Chamber Orchestra

-Anakyklisis, for Chamber Orchestra, 1990

-Variations, for flute, clarinet, violin and violoncello, 1991

-Associations, for oboe, percussion, piano, violin, viola and violoncello, 1993

-Emmelia, for trumpet and piano, 1993

-Double Concerto for violin, piano and Chamber Orchestra, 1993-94

-Methexis, for Chamber Orchestra, 1994

-Erigiris, for Chamber Orchestra, 1998

-Eterogonia, for percussion ensemble, 1999

-Intermezzo, for solo piano, 2000

-Events, for saxophone quartet, 2000

-Epigrams, for Chamber Orchestra, 2004

-Kommos, for two pianos, 2005

-Echomorphes, for Chamber Orchestra, 2005

-Diastasis, for Chamber Orchestra, 2006

-Apologia, for Flute, Violocello and Piano, 2007

-Concertino No1, for Percussion, 2008

-Suite, for Jazz Ensemble, 2009

-De Profundis, for Chamber Orchestra, 2014

-Nomion, for Violin and Piano, 2016

String Quartet

-Nomos, for String Quartet, 1990

-String Quartet No 2, 2009


-Andreikela, in poem of K. Kariotakis, for mixed Choir, 1994

-Ta Parathira, in poem of K. Kavafis, for Double Choir, 1995

-Oso Mporeis, in poem of K. Kavafis, for for Double Choir, 1995

-Apollipin o Theos Antonion, in poem of K. Kavafis, for mezzo – soprano and piano,


-Ionikon, in poem of K. Kavafis for mezzo – soprano and piano, 1996

Mixed Choir (A Cappella)

-Andreikela, poem of K. Kariotakis, for mixed choir 1994

-Ta parathira, poem of K. Kavafis, for two mixed choirs 1995

-Oso mporeis, poem of K. Kavafis, for two mixed choirs 1995

-Odi Dekati, for Soprano, in poem of Andreas Kalvos, for Soprano, Mezzo-Soprano

and Alto, 1997

-O Okeanos, for Soprano, in poem of Andreas Kalvos, for Soprano, Mezzo-Soprano

and Alto, 1997


-Image, for piano, 1988

-Monoloque, for solo clarinet, 1991

-Fantasy Variations, for solo guitar, 1992

-Stochasmos, for solo flute, 1992

-Monavlon, for solo flute, 1997

-To Orama, five pieces for solo Piano, Text by N. Kazantzakis, 1999

-Makron, for solo flute, 2012

-Paravasis, for solo Piano, 2012

-Affectus, for solo flute, 2016

-Antitheseis, for solo Piano, 2016

Electroacoustic, Mixed, Multi - Media

-Anima Munti, for Electronic Music, video, narrator and dance- theatrical

team, 2005-06

-In se, for electronics (solo chinese flute), 2015

-In Aeternum, for Electroacoustic Mixed Music, Piano, Mezzo - Soprano, Video,

Actress and Narrator, 2016.