WITOLD SZALONEK International Composers’ Competition, Kwidzyn 2018

Genre : Contemporary Classical 
Catalogue: Phasma-Music 008

UPC: 660989085650

recording: Marcin Wieczorek  
editing and mastering: 
Marcin Wieczorek  
graphic design: Michail Travlos
production management: Iwona Glinka
front cover:
 Digital Art by Michail Travlos
texts’ correction of Gdansk Reed Trio: Marta Gierczyńska-Kolas
Polish texts redaction: Justyna Liguz 
premiere: ........, 2019

Iwona Glinka flute, alto flute
Marta Rozanska, oboe
Andrzej Wojciechowski, clarinet, bass clarinet
Miroslaw Pachowicz, bassoon 

The album WITOLD SZALONEK International Composers’ Competition, Kwidzyn 2018,  contains the awarded works of the final stage of the competition that took the place  in Kwidzyn on 4 and 5 June 2018 as part of the concert season of the 2nd International Festival "Kwidzyn Music Spring". 

The idea for the Witold Szalonek International Composers' Competition 2018 – 1st Edition was born of the idea of ​​creating a project that would be aimed at getting to know the contemporary music of our time, dedicated to the memory of the great Polish composer of the 20th century, Witold Szalonek (1927-2001). 

Works from 16 countries were submitted and a committee composed of: Marcel Chyrzyński (Poland), Dagfinn Koch (Norway), Mirosław Pachowicz (Poland), Mark Hartt-Palmer (Great Britain), Dariusz Przybylski (Poland), Michail Travlos (Greece / Poland ) chose 17 works from 11 countries. Among them are composers already with a very rich career, distinguished academic professors, and talented youth: Mats O Hansson (Sweden), Christopher Bochmann, George Holloway (United Kingdom), Ali Afshary (Iran), Franciszek Araszkiewicz (Poland), Mario Folli, Gaetano Lorandi (Italy), Elena Papari, Ananias Ananiadis, Dimitris Mantzirakis, Dimitris Tsimpanos ( Greece), Shoryu Itazu, Ryuji Kubota (Japan), Robert Lemay (Canada), Kong Zhixuan (China), Jaime Belmonte Caparrós (Spain), Martín Rincón Botero (Colombia).

Product details
Witold Szalonek
01. Haupt der Medusa I for solo flute 
Franciszek Araszkiewicz
02. White Hole for flute, oboe, clarinet and bassoon 
Christopher Bochmann
03. Essay XV for solo oboe 
Ali Afshari
04. Cedar for flute, oboe, clarinet and bassoon 
Jaime Belmonte Caparrós
05. Svarta Rosor for alto flute, bass clarinet and bassoon 
Kong Zhixuan
06. Monodrama I for solo clarinet 
George Holloway
07. Mysterious Future for flute, oboe, clarinet and bassoon 
Dimitrios Mantzirakis
08. Ehemythia for flute, oboe, clarinet and bassoon 

Total time: